The MRWBA seeks each year to promote the stature of women in the community and to recognize those women who exemplify legal professionalism. 

Nominations are due no later than 5 p.m. March 31st.

I.  Awards Criteria:

Each nominee shall:

  1. be a member of the Virginia State Bar. A nominee who is disabled or unable to practice or deceased will be considered as long as the nominee met the criteria prior to becoming disabled or deceased;
  2. have earned the respect of the community at large for her professional and/or civic contributions;
  3. have made significant contributions to the legal profession and to the community;
  4. have at least five (5) years of professional experience as an attorney.  If less than five years, the nominator should provide specific examples of exceptional circumstances;
  5. have performed charitable work, pro bono legal services and/or any other activities of note that serve to promote the purposes of the MRWBA.  (Purposes of the MRWBA are listed below.)  However, it is not required that a recipient of the MRWBA Women of Achievement Award be involved in charitable activities;
  6. have provided assistance to other women attorneys, particularly as a mentor;
  7. have demonstrated leadership skills; and
  8. each recipient must be a member of the Metro Richmond Women’s Bar Association.

II.  Nomination Package Requirements:

The nomination package must include the following:

  1. a completed nomination form
  2. an updated, descriptive resume;
  3. at least one statement or letter of support for the nominee; and
  4. a nominator statement describing the nominee’s contributions to the stature of women in the legal profession.

III.  Deadline:

All nomination packages must be received no later than 5:00p.m. March 31, 2021. Send nominations to Blaire Hawkins O’BrienOffice of the Attorney General. 202 N 9th Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. Direct:  804-371-0977.

IV.   Purpose of the MRWBA

The purposes of the Association as set forth in the Articles of Incorporation are:

  1. To improve the professional competence of area lawyers, including its members, through education and other means;
  2. To promote understanding and appropriate reform in the law; judicial procedure and the science of jurisprudence generally;
  3. To preserve and promote the honor and integrity of the legal profession;
  4. To support and enhance personal satisfaction and professional advancement of women in the legal profession and in the judiciary
  5. To promote collegiality among women in the legal profession;
  6. To facilitate and improve the administration of justice;
  7. To promote the delivery of legal services to the entire community and to foster civic and community service;
  8. To promote an increased understanding by the public of the legal system;
  9. To inform and stimulate debate among the members of the Association on legal and social issues affecting the legal profession;
  10. To undertake any other matters necessary or proper to the operation of a voluntary Bar Association; and
  11. To do all things necessary or desirable to carry out the foregoing purposes.

Past Award Winners

MRWBA was proud to present its 2019 Woman of Achievement Award to Teri C. Miles and Carolyn Grady (pictured above).

Carolyn (Carrie) Grady is an assistant federal public defender with the Office of the Federal Public Defender (FPD) where she has worked since 2005. She also serves as the defense member of the federal drug court Second Chance Offender Rehabilitation Effort (SCORE) team. Prior to her work at the FPD, Carrie was in private practice as of counsel to Epperly, Follis and Schork, P.C. from 1998 to 2005 where she focused exclusively on criminal defense ranging from traffic offenses to capital murder in both state and federal courts. She also worked for the Richmond Public Defender from 1991 to 1998, where her last position was Senior Assistant Public Defender. Additionally, Carrie is an adjunct teacher at the University of Richmond Law School where she has taught for over 25 years. Carrie has served as an officer on the Board of Governors of the Criminal Law Section of the Virginia State Bar and is currently a member and Vice Chair Elect of the Disciplinary Board, having previously served on the Third District subcommittee.  Carrie also serves as the Chair of the Indigent Defense Commission.  Her leisure activities include golf, biking and travel.

Teri Miles, an internationally and domestically certified compliance and ethics professional, currently manages the Compliance Investigations group at Altria where she and her team analyze, report on, and investigate violations of the Company Code of Conduct, policy or the law for Altria’s companies. Teri is a Director of Diversity and Inclusion for the Richmond Society of Human Resource Management, past president of the MRWBA, past chair of the Corporate Counsel Section of the Richmond Bar Association, a 2006 graduate of Leadership Metro Richmond, and she was selected by “Virginia Business” as a Legal Elite in the Alternative Dispute Resolution category (2007 and 2006). She was a long-time board member of SPARC, serving as its vice president for four years, and continuing to volunteer whenever possible.  She also supports the Virginia Museum of Fine Art, volunteers on the museum’s Council and is training to be a tour guide.

Julie McConnell (2018)
Colleen M. Quinn (2017)
The Honorable Mary B. Malveaux and Shannon Taylor (2016)
Tara L. Casey (2015)
The Honorable M. Hannah Lauck (2014)
The Honorable Mary E. Langer (2013)
Stephanie E. Grana (2012)
The Honorable Catherine C. Hammond (2011) 
Pamela S. Belleman (2010)
The Honorable Cleo E. Powell (2009)
The Honorable Audrey J. Franks and Maya Eckstein (2008)
Karen Ann Gould (2007)
Phoebe P. Hall (2006)
Jacquelyn Stone (2005)

Ann T. Burks and Barbara M. Rose (2004)
Phyllis C. Katz (2003)
Sharon S. England and Carolyn C. Lavecchia (2002)
Darrel Tillar Mason (2001)
Mary R. Spain (2000)
Barbara Ann Williams (1999)
Virginia H. Hackney and Barbara L. Hulburt (1998)
Virginia S. Duvall (1997)
Patricia M. Schwarzchild and Anne Marie Whittemore (1996)
The Honorable Jean W. Cunningham, The Honorable Anne B. Holton,
Linda F. Rigsby, The Honorable Beverly W. Snukals (1995)
Claire G. Cardwell, The Honorable Bonnie C. Davis, The Honorable Elizabeth B. Lacy, Julie D. McClellan, Sharon O’Donnell, Virginia W. Powell, Debra J. Prillaman, Karen A. Raschke (1994)

MRWBA itself has been recognized on a number of occasions for a variety of our programs.  Click here to see the awards we have been honored to receive.

MRWBA is a 501(c)6 nonprofit organization.

PO Box 6605, Richmond, VA 23230

(804) 589-3213

Copyright 2021

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software